Frequently Asked Questions

What is the TOEFL® ITP Assessment Series?

The TOEFL® ITP Assessment Series offers colleges and universities, English-language programs and other organizations the opportunity to administer a convenient, affordable and reliable English-language assessment. The tests measure English proficiency at high beginning to advanced levels.

The tests use academic content to evaluate nonnative speakers’ skills in:

  • Listening Comprehension
  • Structure and Written Expression
  • Reading Comprehension

Who uses the TOEFL® ITP Assessment Series?

Some 2,500 institutions in 47 countries administer 600,000 TOEFL® ITP tests annually, including:

  • Colleges and universities
  • Secondary schools
  • English-language programs
  • Governments

What skills does the TOEFL® ITP Assessment Series measure?

The TOEFL® ITP assessments are composed of three sections. Each section measures a different skill:

  • Listening Comprehension – measures the ability to understand spoken English as it is used in colleges and universities
  • Structure and Written Expression – measures recognition of selected structural and grammatical points in standard written English
  • Reading Comprehension measures the ability to read and understand academic reading material

Will i fail the TOEFL® ITP test?

TOEFL® ITP measures the test taker’s English ability. There is no pass/fail. Test taker who scores more than 460 points will be issued a score report and a certificate.

How long are TOEFL® ITP scores valid?

TOEFL® ITP scores are valid for two years. Because language proficiency can change considerably in a relatively short period of time, scores more than two years old cannot be reported or verified. If a test taker took the TOEFL® ITP test more than two years ago and needs to submit scores to an agency or institution, he or she must take the test again to have scores reported.